Former Zucher Synagogue built between 1879-1881. This unique brick building was one of four former prayer houses within the area of the ghetto.
Religious practise outlawed by the Germans during the war. So, the synagogue was converted into a warehouse and then a factory. When the ghetto was established, many valuable religious artefacts from Kazimierz synagogues transferred here by people for protection, however the eventual liquidation of the ghetto guaranteed that they lost.
The building slowly fell into dereliction after the war. But Andrzej and Teresa Starmach rescued it in 1996, restoring the facade and turning it into one of the largest and most renowned private art galleries in Poland.