Nesvizh Palace is considered the country’s most beautiful palace by the people of Belarus. Its richly diverse architecture and attractive gardens make it one of the most popular tourist attractions in Belarus.
The history of Nesvizh Palace
The estate and town was acquired by the Radziwil family in the middle of the 16th century, and they stayed there until 1939 when they were expelled by the invading Red Army.
The foundation stone of Nesvizh Palace was laid in 1584. It was rebuilt many times and as a consequence has features of manyarchitectural styles including:
In 1770 Nesvizh Palace was seized by Russian forces and the Lithuanian Archive removed and sent to Saint Petersburg where it remains to this day. Much of the artwork was distributed among Russian nobility. In the late 19th century Nesvizh Palace was restored by the Radziwil family who also designed one of largest landscape gardens in Europe on the estate. After World War II Nesvizh Palace was used as a Sanatorium and the gardens became neglected.
In 1994 the estate was designated the national historical and cultural reserve and in 2006 it was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.
Nesvizh Palace today
Nesvizh Palace is considered the most beautiful palace in Belarus and attracts thousands of visitors every year. The gardens are a particular attraction, with ornamental lakes, and beautifully landscaped gardens.
Nesvizh Palace went through an extensive renovation programme to restore it to its former glory. After intensive restoration works (since 2004), Nesvizh Palace reopened its doors for visitors in June 2012.