The third oldest synagogue in Krakow, the High Synagogue was completed in 1563, and is unique for having its prayer room upstairs, it is widely theorized that it was a security measure to protect the congregation from hostile neighbours. The design does not save, it is the subject of an arson attack during the second world WAR, unfortunately, and now, no furniture to remain. The floor of the prayer room has retained some original elements, however, including the Holy Ark, two golden griffins have survived above the Aron Kodesh, and some of the murals have been restored. The size of the ceiling height of the room and the quality of those details that do remain indicate that it was a magnificent space before its destruction. Today, the admission is paid to go to the floor of the prayer room, where visitors can also see a small temporary museum piece. On the ground floor is a large bookstore with books of Jewish interest in a variety of languages.