This neo-gothic building has three names: National House of Organ and Chamber Music of Ukraine, Roman Catholic Church of St. Nicholas and St. Nicholas Roman Catholic Cathedral (the latter is used most often).
Difficult conditions of construction and architectural solutions forced the architects to use innovative at the time engineering technologies. Works started in 1899. For the first time in construction practice was offered a foundation on concrete piles, and in construction was widely used reinforced concrete — new material. In 1909 construction was completed. Like most other religious places, it was closed and looted in 1933, and the clergy were repressed. The building housed warehouse.
Since 1980 Nicholas Church functioned as a concert hall, House of Organ and Chamber Music.
Regular worship services of the Roman Catholic community started in 1992. But the building itself included in the list of facilities owned by the state and was not returned to religious associations.