St. Peter and Paul — is the oldest Orthodox Church in Minsk. Minsk residents worked on the construction of the temple with the help of monks who came from Vilna from the orthodox Holy Spirit Monastery of St. Peter and St. Paul. In 1613 the construction of the monastery church was basically completed. In the same year, the monks settled here, they came from Vilna and began daily church service. However, by 1787 there were living only five monks. There remained only a bit of orthodox in Minsk.
In 1793 the town was annexed by Russia. In 1795 the church has been upgraded with funds donated by Catherine the II. The renovated church has become the Minsk Cathedral, named in honor of Catherine, the Russian Empress. However Minsk church authorities came to the conclusion that the church is at the wrong place. Cathedral was moved, and Minsk Cathedral turned into the usual Catherine Church.
After the October Revolution and the establishment of Soviet power the church was closed and rebuilt as a warehouse. In the early 1990s, the church building was returned to people. On December 7, 1991 in the church of Saints Peter and Paul Cathedral in Minsk has been conducted the prayer — the first in 46 years!
There are important relics in the temple - icons of three Vilna’s martyrs — Anthony, John and Eustathius with little pieces of the martyr’s relics in it, icon of St. Theodosius, Archbishop of Chernigov and icon of the Holy Pskov Prince Dovmont.