Palace of the Bishop Erazm Ciolek
Lesser Poland Voivodeship
Sun: 10:00 - 16:00
The Palace was built in 1501-1503 for Erazm Ciolek - the Bishop of Plock and the secretary of King Alexander Jagiellon. Bishop Ciolek was a diplomat, humanist and a patron of artists.
The architecture of the Palace features traditional Gothic elements and influences of the Italian Renaissance. At the beginning of the 16th century, the building housed both the Bishop's residence and Florian Ungler's printing house. The Palace was extended in the 1520s (the decor of Tomicki Hall on the first floor dates back to this decade) and then again at the turn of the 16th and 17th centuries.
In 1805, the Palace became the property of the Austrian authorities, which turned it into a police station and a prison. In later years - until the 1990s - it housed various state agencies. In 1996, the building was transferred to the National Museum in Krakow.
Reopened after a 2015 renovation, palace holds three permanent exhibitions:
- Kraków Whithin Your Reach
- Art of Old Poland from the 12th to 18th Centuries
- Orthodox Art of the Old Polish Republic.
The first is a depository of local architectural sculpture fragments, while the latter two consist almost entirely of sacral art. Most of it came directly out of Kraków's own churches or others in the region. That is why most of it could be interpreted completely boring and uninteresting for usual tourist.
The masterpiece for us is without a doubt the strange 16th century "Christ Riding a Donkey" - a near life-size wooden sculpture of Christ doing just that with vacant eyes and the mule, which is dramatically. Also of note is the wooden Madonna from Krużlowa which dates from around 1400.
One of the best permanent museums in Krakow. Wonderful objects of sacred art in historical and contemporary wnetrzach. Recommend!
Super Museum. Should come here.