In the 1870-ies city's deputies desided to sell existed at that time waste ground to private property. But during the visit to Kiev in 1876, the Brazilian Emperor Pedro II, noticed that the city authorities very prudently left in front of the University land as a reserve for the future park. No one objected the guest and in 1890 there was founded a park named University Park.
In 1896 monument was erected to the Emperor Nicholas, and the park was renamed to Nikolaev. Also at the Park 3 fountains were built which are located on the same places to this day. After the revolution of 1917 the park was no longer a welcoming place: the fountains were clogged and dried up, benches were stolen, the monument to Nicholas was demolished and sent to the smelter, beautiful lights aslo went to scrap.
Only in 1939, the Park was named after the poet.
The smallest park in Kiev is quite popular among different types of visitors. Students love to spent time here, already in the morning "older generation" reserve benches to read a newspaper and to play chess during the day. At the afternoon business people come here to have a lunch, and when evening comes, love couples spread romance in the park.
In the park there is always something interesting going on, it could be either an organized pillow fight or Salsa Open Air Event.
In the park you will find a Classic Grandma sculpture.