The town of Kamenets, is home to a unique specimen of defense architecture – the Kamenets Tower (also referred to as the Kamenets Pillar or Kamenets Vezha). Its origins go back a long way to the second half of the 13th century.
The majestic building resembling a chess rook is located on the hill near the Lesnaya River which was full-flowing back then.
According to the chronicles, Kamenets Tower was built between 1276 and 1288 on the orders of Galicia–Volhynia Prince Vladimir Vasilkovich by architect Aleksa who found the site to build a town and a wooden castle.
During the 14th-17th centuries the tower survived crusaders’ raids and assaults by Polish and Lithuanian forces, armies of Rzeczpospolita, Sweden and the Moscow State.
Currently the silhouette of Kamenets Tower is one of the most recognizable architectural symbols of Belarus. The word combination Belaya Vezha (White Tower) has become a brand.
Today Kamenets Tower is a historical and cultural monument protected by the state.
The Kamenets Tower Museum is located here, too. The excursions named "Kamenets Architectural Monuments" are organized on the observation platform of the tower. This must-see site is included in various excursions.
The Kamenets Tower is included in the UNESCO World Heritage Tentative List.