The monument to Princess Olga at Mikhailovskaya square is a sculptural composition, which consists of a Central monument to Olga, pedestal to Cyril and Methodius located on the right, and the monument to the Apostle Andrew to the left of the Princess. A monument was established in September 1911. The composition was made of concrete – a new and expensive at the time.
Unfortunately the monument lasted only 8 years — in 1919, the statue of Princess Olga was dropped by the Bolshevists from the pedestal, cleaved in two and buried under the monument, and in March 1923 were dismantled statues of apostles and enlighteners.
In 1996 there were carried out excavations, in which were found parts of the broken pieces of the Princess Olga, except of the head. Pieces of the old monument were combined and placed in the Sculpture Park of Kavaleridze on Andreevsky descent.
The new (modern) monument was made of white marble, and the pedestal is pink granite. The monumental ensemble dedicated to the Princess Olga, the first and only female head of state in the history of Ukraine.